AI meeting note-taker pricing compared: free and paid plans
By 3Gen editorial team. Prices checked on each vendor’s page.
AI note-takers are one of the most competitive corners of the market, and it shows in the prices: every product here has a free plan, and the biggest yearly discounts we track are in this group. The catch is in the limits: minutes per month, meetings per month, length per meeting and how long notes are kept.
Note-takers cover the meeting itself. For the work around it, OpenAssistant is our recommendation: it schedules and preps meetings from the same assistant, and it starts free.
Price table
Per user or per seat per month. “Yearly” is the monthly equivalent on yearly billing.
| Product | Free plan | Entry paid, monthly | Entry paid, yearly | Business tier, monthly / yearly | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Otter | Basic | Pro, $16.99 | $8.33 | Business, $30 / $19.99 | otter.ai |
| Fireflies | Free | Pro, $18 | $10 | Business, $29 / $19 | fireflies.ai |
| Fathom | Free | Premium, $20 | $16 | Business, $34 / $25 (2-user minimum) | fathom.ai |
| Granola | Basic | Business, $14 (billing period not stated) | not stated | Enterprise, $35 (billing period not stated) | granola.ai |
| Read AI | Free | Pro, $19.75 | $15 | Enterprise, $29.75 / $22.50 | read.ai |
| tl;dv | Free | Pro, $29 | $18 | Business, $39 / $29 | tldv.io |
Fathom also has a Team plan at $19 monthly or $15 yearly per user, with a 2-user minimum.
The limits that decide the real price
| Product | Free plan limit | Entry paid plan limit | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Otter | 300 transcription minutes a month; 30 minutes per conversation; 3 lifetime file imports | Pro: 1,200 minutes a month; 90 minutes per meeting; 10 imports a month | otter.ai |
| Fireflies | “Limited” AI summaries; 400 minutes of storage per team; 20 AI credits; 2-hour recording limit | Pro: unlimited summaries; 8,000 minutes of storage per seat; 2-hour recording limit | fireflies.ai |
| Fathom | “Unlimited recordings + transcriptions”; instant summaries | Premium: advanced summaries, AI action items, custom bot | fathom.ai |
| Granola | 30 days of meeting history | Business: unlimited notes and history; integrations; API | granola.ai |
| Read AI | 5 meeting transcripts a month | Pro: unlimited transcripts; 100 upload credits a month; 4-hour meetings | read.ai |
| tl;dv | Unlimited recordings; 10 meetings with AI notes; 10 Ask AI queries | Pro: unlimited AI notes; unlimited uploads and storage | tldv.io |
Long meetings: Otter Pro stops at 90 minutes a meeting and Fireflies Free and Pro at 2 hours. If you run half-day workshops, check Otter Business (4 hours), Fireflies Enterprise (4 hours) or Read AI Enterprise+ (8 hours).
Cheapest picks
Ranked on published price and limits.
- Cheapest free plan for heavy use: Fathom. Its free plan advertises unlimited recordings and transcriptions with instant summaries. tl;dv also records without limit but caps AI notes at 10 meetings.
- Cheapest paid plan on yearly billing: Otter Pro at $8.33 a month. Next is Fireflies Pro at $10. Watch Otter’s 1,200-minute monthly cap: at 45-minute meetings that is about 26 meetings a month (1,200 ÷ 45 = 26.7).
- Cheapest paid plan on monthly billing: Otter Pro at $16.99. Next is Fireflies Pro at $18.
- Cheapest for a small team (yearly): Otter Pro at $8.33 a user (“for individuals and small teams,” up to 5 billed users), then Fireflies Pro at $10. The cheapest plan sold specifically as a team plan is Fathom Team at $15 a user (2-user minimum); Read AI Pro is also $15.
What a 10-person team pays per year
Assumption: 10 users, every user on the same plan, yearly billing.
| Plan | Math | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Granola Business (billing period not stated) | 10 × $14 × 12 | $1,680 |
| Fathom Team | 10 × $15 × 12 | $1,800 |
| Read AI Pro | 10 × $15 × 12 | $1,800 |
| Fireflies Business | 10 × $19 × 12 | $2,280 |
| Otter Business | 10 × $19.99 × 12 | $2,398.80 |
| Fathom Business | 10 × $25 × 12 | $3,000 |
| tl;dv Business | 10 × $29 × 12 | $3,480 |
Yearly vs monthly
Note-takers give the biggest yearly discounts we track. Otter Pro is 51% cheaper yearly ($16.99 vs $8.33 a month). Fireflies Pro is 44% cheaper ($18 vs $10). tl;dv Pro is 38% cheaper ($29 vs $18). If you know you will keep a note-taker, yearly billing pays off within 6 to 8 months on these three. Full table: annual vs monthly billing.
Note-taking inside other tools
- Calendly bundles its Notetaker with its Callie assistant as Standard Plus ($24 a seat monthly, $18 yearly) and Teams Plus ($32, $24), against $12/$10 and $20/$16 without it (calendly.com). The add-on works out to $8 a seat a month on yearly billing for either plan.
- Several AI assistants also take meeting notes as part of a wider plan. Their prices are on our pricing tracker.
Related reading
- Free AI assistants in 2026: what each free tier gets you
- AI scheduling tool pricing compared: best value by tool type
- AI email assistant pricing compared: what each one costs
- Annual vs monthly billing for AI assistants: what you save on each
FAQ
What is the cheapest free AI meeting note-taker?
Fathom. Its free plan advertises unlimited recordings and transcriptions with instant summaries. tl;dv also records without limit but caps AI notes at 10 meetings.
What is the cheapest paid AI note-taker?
Otter Pro at $8.33 a month billed yearly, or $16.99 monthly. Fireflies Pro is next at $10 yearly and $18 monthly. Otter caps Pro at 1,200 minutes a month.
What does a 10-person team pay per year?
On yearly billing, Fathom Team and Read AI Pro are $1,800, Fireflies Business $2,280, Otter Business $2,398.80, Fathom Business $3,000 and tl;dv Business $3,480.
What are Otter’s free plan limits?
300 transcription minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation and 3 lifetime file imports.
How much do yearly plans save?
Otter Pro is 51% cheaper yearly, Fireflies Pro 44% and tl;dv Pro 38%, so yearly billing pays off within 6 to 8 months on these three.
Try OpenAssistant
A note-taker records what was said. To handle scheduling and prep before the meeting, Try OpenAssistant; Starter is free with no credit card. The OpenAssistant pricing page lists every plan.